While Marion County and the City of Indianapolis are often considered synonymous, the county's fire departments are not. Through the years there have been various government plans to try and merge the eight county fire departments. A county-wide merger failed to pass the state legislature in both 2006 and 2007. However, on January 1st, 2007 Washington Township (5th largest in the state) became the first to merge independently with IFD. Warren Township followed in July 2007,  then Perry in August 2009, Franklin in July 2010 and finally Lawrence Township in January 2011. In 2021, the City of Beech Grove merged their fire department into IFD as well. As of 2022, the Indianapolis Fire Department  has 44 active fire stations.  

The remainder of Marion County has 20 fire stations. The Cities of Lawrence (5) and Speedway reside within Marion County, but have their own governments, Fire Departments and stations. The Indianapolis Airport (2 stations), Decatur Township (3), Pike Township (4) and Wayne Township (5) are all located on the county's west side and remain independent departments as well. The public will be pleased to know that all of the departments in the county regularly make joint runs and provide mutual aid support from the closest firehouses.

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In